More than just training in face painting

Published November 8, 2010 by Face Painting Brisbane

Hi everyone! Thanks again for the opportunity to share some more (hopefully) sound business advice for your face painting businesses.

While many of you know me as the head painter and trainer for http://www.thefacepaintingcompany.com – facepainting is merely one of many things that I like to teach to my all staff and subcontractors, that work with our company.

I have seen some outstanding artists in the short time I have been involved in this industry, and I also feel that being a fabulous face painter is not enough in this competitive day and age.

Presentation – Learning about costume coordination, grooming, make up and hair, adds to the final product that you are ultimately selling – YOU! Do your homework on how your competitors are presented, and step it up!

Hygiene – Training and learning about the best and safest application techniques will add value to your business. E.g. glitter puffers! This minimises the direct contact to the face and the product. My team are also trained in the importance of painting only clean, healthy faces! It only takes one dirty, snotty nosed face to spread germs and bacteria, and also makes you look very unprofessional to the parents that may be watching with their children in the line.

Etiquette –My team are trained in all aspects of professional etiquette on every job. It is lovely to be offered a “cup cake” at a child’s party, and I encourage everyone to accept these offers graciously. But… NEVER stop your paid work, to eat or drink while on the job! (Except your hydration bottle) Put it aside, and after you have packed up, thank the host again and eat it on the way out, or after you have left. Breaks should always be taken away from your station and preferably out of view of clients and waiting patrons. And NEVER accept to have a “drink” with the clients at the end of the event/party.

Communication – Greeting your client before and after the job is respectful and courteous. Personally, I always hand out my cards, but never discuss business while on a job for someone else. Your client may not appreciate paying you to have a conversation with someone else about future bookings, prices, etc. One idea, is to politely hand a business card, and say “I’m sure you can appreciate I can’t chat now, but please feel free to phone the number on this card when convenient.” Never refer to your client as “mate”, or “bro”… and avoid using statements like “yeh, man” and “that’s cool”. May sound old fashioned, but good communication skills will give you repeat business.

Research –. Working as Purplena Fairy at Dreamworld, I get asked some really difficult “fairy” questions. I have used this experience to teach my team what works and what doesn’t. Learning about the television shows that kids are interested in and knowing a little about what kids are “into” can help a shy child gain confidence in getting face painting. Outside of Dreamworld, I also like to know a little about each Company that I am working for. I feel it adds that little bit of special personalised service to be able to say something like – “I read recently that *company* is sponsoring the *something* appeal.” J

Well, I hope this information has been somewhat helpful! Please leave your comments, and until next time Living The Dream

Milana xxx

Leave a Reply

